About Ini-Abasi Affiah

Hi,

My name is Ini-Abasi Affiah. I am a data scientist. I am a Christian. At the moment, I am contributing to the Ersilia Open Source Initiative. We are making AI models for drug discovery available to scientists and researchers without a background in Artificial Intelligence. We want to make the process of drug discovery easier for them. From the research papers I read, I learned scientists can take up to 10 years to discover a new drug. I believe the work Ersilia is doing will make this process better. 

I love my work here because it’s in line with my values. I love helping people. My favourite areas of application of AI are in Healthcare, Agriculture and Entertainment. I don’t limit myself to these industries. I like trying out new things. I have experience in applying AI to other fields, including, Cybersecurity, Education, Finance, etc.

My core values are integrity, excellence, empathy, spirituality, humility and personal growth. I also value love and wisdom.

I try to do right by people. Be honest, and treat people the way they want to be treated. I do for people what I’d like others to do for me, just like the golden rule in Matthew 7:12. I take responsibility for my actions and learn from my mistakes. I want to be someone people can look up to and trust.

In everything I do, I always try to do it with excellence. This is why I learn a lot because I’m always trying to improve my skills so I can do excellent work. I like going the extra mile for my clients and giving the 100%. I set high standards for myself. I detest mediocrity. I never want to be average. This has led me to become disciplined.

I value empathy. I can see things from other people’s perspectives. It’s what helps me communicate with people effectively. It’s why I can teach in such a way that someone understands because I come to their level of understanding. I can convey complex ideas in a relatable way. This ability helps me to understand my clients’ challenges. By seeing things from their perspective, I can address their issues, leaving them impressed.

I value humility. I want to be approachable. I don’t know everything, and there’s still a lot I have to learn. There are things people know that I don’t know and I’d love to learn from them.

Beyond the physical things we see, there is also a spiritual part of life. This is why I value spirituality. I aim to be spiritually fervent. Most of the values fall under love. If we can love, then it will be easy to do every other thing. This is why the bible talks about love being the greatest commandment. I value wisdom. I love the books of Proverbs and Ecclesiastes in the bible. They talk about the importance of having wisdom. 

Let’s talk about my hobbies. I enjoy music. I love singing and I’m learning how to play the guitar. I enjoy reading personal development books. I want to gain more wisdom and grow. I enjoy seeing adventure, action, thriller, comedy and medieval movies/series. For example Shadowhunters, The Sharanna Chronicles, The Lincoln Lawyer, Suits, Big Bang Theory, Seinfeld, Young Sheldon, New Amsterdam, The Defenders, The Avengers, etc.

That’s a little about me. There’s still a whole world of me to explore.


Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started